Pokémon Progress: Reloaded

  Licorita the Meganium, Lv. 75: Body Slam, Aromatherapy, Energy Ball, Synthesis

 Pidgenator the Pidgeot, Lv. 75: Return, U-turn, Featherdance, Roost

 Mama the Kangaskhan, Lv. 75: Return, Earthquake, Sucker Punch, Toxic

Scorch the Magmortar, Lv. 75: Thunderbolt, Flamethrower, Confuse Ray, Brick Break

Jellybean the Tentacruel, Lv 75: Surf, Poison Jab, Ice Beam, Barrier

 Mister the Mismagius,  Lv.75: Thunderbolt, Shadow Ball, Power Gem, Will-o-wisp

What I’ve been doing since last time:

I’ve defeated the Elite Four for the second time and they were much stronger this time around. They had Lv. 60-70-ish Pokémon and also sported a new roster which included Pokémon from the other generations.

Then I went on to defeat Red in Mount Silver and I can say that it was tough and required a lot of Full Restores and Max Revives. The thing is that I had to leave Pidgeot to bring an Onix with Rock Climb with me, which I think is an awful thing to be forced to do. I mean, to reach Red you MUST have a Pokémon with that crappy HM move and then you’ll have given up either a move slot or a Pokémon to bring along one that’s much worse. Luckily I used Onix as a shield when using Max Revive on my team.

The thing is that I don’t have time to level my team up. I leveled them up to Lv. 65 but then I thought “this is ridicilous” as the gap between the Second Round of the Elite Four and Red, from the time you’ve defeated the Kanto Gym Leaders, jumps up to 20-30 levels. And seeing how long time it takes to level your team up that amount, even with the Lucky Egg, I just thought that it wasn’t worth it. So what did I do? I Action Replay’d the game 900 Rare Candies and elevated the critter 10 levels each. In my eyes that’s fair game.

Then I went on to the Battle Factory, which is wickedly rad by the way, where you temporarily exchange your roster for a set of 3 out of 6 other random Pokémon that are presented to you. This reminds me of Episode 56 of the first Indigo League season of the Pokémon anime that was called “The Ultimate Test” where each contestant that participated got 3 random Pokémon to use. The test is the  Pokémon League Admissions Exam and is one way to be admitted to the Pokémon League championships, the other one being the usual 8 Gym Badges way. The first test is about knowledge and other is about recognizing Pokémon shapes (the latter is useless if you ask me) but the third part is what’s interesting and reminescent of the Battle Factory.

I’ve always wanted this mode in the games and since I didn’t have Pokémon Emerald I never got to experience this mode until I got Pokémon HeartGold. And it’s awesome!

Sprites from: http://sprites.pokecheck.org/?gen=1&

First image from: http://media.pldh.net/scans/hgss_redfight.gif

Second image from: http://www.serebii.net/platinum/bf-map.jpg

Third image from: http://pikapipodcast.blogspot.com/2012_05_01_archive.html

2 thoughts on “Pokémon Progress: Reloaded

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

