This is a great post I found through the Gigable blog (http://gigable.wordpress.com/) that has been kind enough to reblog 2 of my later posts. Enjoy!

Gavin Craig

I have a secret: I love console design updates. There’s just something, well, sexy about those sleek little boxes. All the same features tucked neatly into a smaller package, all the superfluity cut away.

Console redesigns

Your normal collector tends to want the original, and there’s something to be said for the often iconic original visual profiles.

But I love the way that the redesigns are a bit more unexpected. The way there’s something a little off when you can still see the cartridge as you turn on your top-loading NES. And as the redesigns usually come pretty late in a console’s life cycle, they’re often a bit more quiet, a bit more reliable.

And when you have a bunch of consoles hooked up to a single TV, you appreciate every bit of space you can get.

I’ve never traded in a console for a new model before, but at 500 GB…

View original post 16 more words

4 thoughts on “

  1. Wow, 500 GBs on a PS3. I can’t even begin to think how I’d full that up. Oh well… And you’re right, as a collector I do prefer the original, likely “Fatter”, version of a system.

    Like

  2. – The top loader NES looks too plasticy.
    – The Genesis 2 looks better IMO though.
    – Both the SNES consoles look cheap compared to the European version.
    – The original PlayStation looks AWESOME (which is why I liked it. Didn’t like those polygonal lines showing up sometimes on the games when it read the CD).
    – I prefer the original N64. The Pikachu N64 looks like a child version with its colors.
    – The PS2 slim looks better IMO (the original looks too chunky).
    – The XBOX 360 looks pretty much the same in design, but I prefer it in black I suppose.
    – The Nintendo Wii looks better in it’s original design (the family edition makes it look like a DVD player).
    – I prefer the Playstation 3 Slim to the original (the original looks like a mix of a 70’s console and a modern one, I don’t like it).

    🙂

    Like

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

