Pokémon White, am I right?

I’m one of those people who thought the Pokémon games had gotten stale. This begun somewhere around the Advance generation of games but lately I’ve started to think that it’s there that the staleness both started and ended. With the increased capabilities of the Nintendo DS systems GameFreak has been able to produce a few great games. Sure, they have their flaws, but what game is really perfect? Shush, I know there are perfect games! But does it really matter as long as you enjoy the games?

I’ll compile these stand-alone reviews in my Top Ten Replayable Games list for the systems in the future. Now let’s start our review of Pokémon White Version!

#??:  Pokémon White Version

With Pokémon Black and White 2 having been  released recently, and me being a Slowpoke when it comes to playing new games, I thought it’d be reasonable to review this great game 1 month after I promised it. Hey, this review is free, stop complaining.

Graphics: 9/10

Some people think the pixelated Pokémon hurt their eyes. I don’t see how that’s possible since it’s sweet that the Pokémon move and give a more dynamic illusion to the turn-based battle. Well, I can agree that it’s a semi-lazy and semi-cost reducing move production-wise to design the game like this. But the 3D, oh, the 3D, where should I get started? I really like the environments and especially the abundance of bridges, even though they could’ve been shorter. Where Hoenn forced you to travel a lot in waters this game forces you to travel across bridges galore. The new designs are really good too, sure there are some weird designs, but so far this game has the best designs since Generation 2 in my opinion.

Sounds & Music: 10/10

The music is really good, it feels as if Junichi Masuda and his team really have got a great grip on the Nintendo DS sound hardware in this game. I really like the battle tunes amongst others, there are so many favourite tracks that I can’t even bother to list anything else but my favourite: The track you get to hear when stumbling upon more rare Pokémon that hide in rustling grass or rippling water:

Gameplay: 10/10

It’s simply a Pokémon game in its core, there’s not much to say here. They’ve made Ditto into a hardcore badass, that’s for sure and I’ll soon be sure to switch my Stoutland for one when I figure out how to get one with that ability that makes him transform instantly… yes, that’s how deeply I know the game, I don’t know the name of the ability. Since I play for fun a lot of the details that every hardcore competitive player knows by heart simply go into my eyes and out my butt.

I really like the storyline a lot, the team has put a lot of thought behind it this time. But I still have to say that Professor Oak remains my favourite Professor as of yet, with Professor Rowan, that scary old man, coming in a close second.

I won’t really adress all the gimmicks and other features, they’re great and all but I don’t think I’ll be able to describe them well anyways so I’ll leave them for you to discover.

The challenge is good and all, but when you reach the Elite Four the level increase is too steep in my opinion. Training is fine and all, but at least you should be presented more trainers to battle. Well, at least you get a Lucky Egg early on to compensate for this, but it’s a  hassle to switch that item around after each battle.

Replay value: 10/10

This has to be the most fun I’ve had playing a Pokémon game in a long time, at least ever since Generation 2. I’d play this game again in a heartbeat if I had a) somewhere to store the Pokémon and b) more time.

Trivia:

Pokémon Black and White are the first versions to get direct sequels. Initially Pokémon Gold and Silver were to be called Pokémon 2: Gold and Silver Version, but they scrapped this. Awesome, right? Triviatastic!

My team at the end of the game with levels and movesets will be presented to you in another post shortly. I can tell you right now that I chose Snivy, but the rest will have to wait for a while.

In the next game I’ll choose Pignite.

First image from: http://www.supercheats.com/guides/files/guid/pokemon-white/logo.jpg

Second image from: http://psychohazard.deviantart.com/art/Serperior-199530647, by Psychohazard

2 thoughts on “Pokémon White, am I right?

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

