Finished Disney’s Magical Quest 2: Starring Mickey and Minnie… without Minnie.

I’ve finally beaten the game. I don’t mean finally as in “finally, that game was so hard!” but finally as in “finally I have the motivation to beat the game when I remember I’m already at the last level.“.

It was challenging enough, at least in a “pick up and play”-way, and the bosses were tricky enough to beat. In my opinion Canvas-Face-Pete is by far the most difficult one to beat, followed by Cloudy-Face-Pete. But man does that cat (!!) have an ugly face!

Pete with his ugly face and a peg leg in a drawing made by Nelson Dániel at Deviantart.com

Pete with his ugly face and a peg leg in a drawing made by Nelson Dániel at Deviantart.com

I’ve already reviewed the game in my Top 10 SNES Games list and put it at #07.

Screenshots of the SNES game from Genkivideogames.com, I played the GBA version. Yay for portability!

Screenshots of the SNES game from Genkivideogames.com, I played the GBA version. Yay for portability!

I recommend the game for anyone that’s in for a light but solid platforming action. But I warn you, the flying squirrels in the woods level are a pain in the behind.

I’m a little bit sad that the only time you see Donald Duck is in the scene where you get your Vacuum-Cleaner powerup in the screen bottom right in the image above. Luckily you can play as Donald Duck, which happens to be my favourite Disney character because of his human side, in Disney’s Magical Quest 3. Unluckily that game wasn’t released outside of Japan. DARN IT!

HOLD IT! (Get the reference? Write a comment!)

The third game in the series was released for the Gameboy Advance. This means I’ll have to get both the first and third game for the GBA. Yay! But I wish they’d port Mickey Mania for the GBA as well, that game was awesome indeed!

I’ll update soon with a post about a retro item that I pride myself in owning and a post with a tutorial how to both region unlock your NES and replace the pin connector.

That’s it for now! (Get the reference? Write a comment!)

2 thoughts on “Finished Disney’s Magical Quest 2: Starring Mickey and Minnie… without Minnie.

  1. I remember playing that game first in a Disney museum, as a kid. But you weren’t allowed to play it for a long time, since it reset. At most I cleared level one.
    But afterwards, I have played it, and it is a decent game, albeit in my opinion at its best as a two player experience. 🙂
    But I don’t like Mickey much at all to be honest, he is a goody two shoes SOAB. But he is better to play as than Minnie IMO. I can’t take her seriously with her bow and pink/purple clothing. :p

    Like

    • It really is much better as a 2-player experience.
      Oh, Mickey, that smug SOAB. And yeah, Minnie can’t be taken seriously, in my opinion that’s because she doesn’t move like a real adventurer, much like Mickey doesn’t wear his armor like a REAL MAN (like Donald does).

      Like

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

