Now playing: Metroid II: The Return of Samus

250px-Metroid2_boxart

She’s back. After one of the most famous gender discoveries Samus Aran is on a new adventure to eradicate even more Metroids, this time with her gender known all along, and you’re the one that’s supposed to take her there.

The game plays as the first Metroid game, but with better controls, new weapons and power-ups etc. You start off choosing your save file. The save files are labeled as “Start 1”, “Start 2” and “Start 3” which confused me initially, but I quickly understood how to Erase a Save File (I chose Start 1 for simplicity’s sake) and start the game.

Now, I haven’t read the story behind the game yet, but judging by the self-explanatory status bar there are 40 (?) Metroids you’ll have to hunt down. The controls and mechanics of the game are obvious not only for old-time Metroid gamers but also for newbies.

The music so far is alright, having that creepy kind of tunes in the areas and the sound effects are typical for the Gameboy system.

Ugly fellas these Metroids, they've cross bred with something and are now... weaker.

Ugly fellas these Metroids, they’ve cross bred with something and are now… weaker.

It’s said to be a difficult game, and one particular gamer posted his own map in a post about the game (the game doesn’t provide a map, making it very difficult to navigate through):

Oh my Lord, what have I gotten myself into?!

Oh my Lord, what have I gotten myself into?!

You can find his post here: Link

I’ll update when I’ve reached certain milestones. So far I’ve killed about 8 Metroids, which shows that I’ve just started playing the game.

First image from Wikimedia.com, second from http://www.listal.com/viewimage/1464061

4 thoughts on “Now playing: Metroid II: The Return of Samus

  1. This was one of my first gaming experiences as a child, and it is still one of my favorites. Easily one of the best looking games on the original Game Boy. Don’t let the massive map scare you: you’ll find your way around the world with some ease after playing for a short while.

    Like

  2. It definitely looks much creepier in black and white. So being black or white does matter in some matters (see what I did there?).
    I definitely believe that some games actually looked better on the GameBoy. Maybe the tinier screen gave a better bit-to-resolution ratio.
    But I have always been too scared to play the Metroid games. But maybe I should start with the NES ones. 🙂

    Like

    • I think the NES one is a good start. But the music is still creepy and occasionally nausea-inducing.
      The game looks better in the original format, but without the SP I wouldn’t be able to find some secret passages. 😛

      Like

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

