Gaming in Paris

Once again I’ve been travelling abroad. I’ve been in Paris eating French food (not Escargots and frog legs, mind), watching the erratic traffic and, when my legs couldn’t bear me anymore, read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and played Metroid 2: The Return of Samus and Mega Man: Dr. Wily’s Revenge for the Gameboy, in a hotel room in the heart of the city that smelled of sour, decades old smoke. Ah, Vive le France!

Of all places in Paris, of every place one could imagine, I never expected to find video games in The Louvre:

Nintendo 3DS in The Louvre?! Radical!

Nintendo 3DS in The Louvre?! Radical!

It’s the Nintendo 3DS that one could borrow/buy (?) as an audio guide when touring the muséum. I also saw a lot of people walking around with 3DS systems of this particular color (the same that I have, mind you) in the streets around the most renowned hallmarks of the city. I never used the system, since I can read French (but I have forgot how to speak it as fluently as I used to, which was so-so) and it seems as if Korean Air and Nintendo offered this to costumers of the former only. I never looked deeply into this though.

While I’ve only managed to reach the last level of Dr. Wily’s Fortress in Mega Man for the Gameboy, I actually managed to beat Metroid II. The last boss, the Queen Metroid, was a pain in the behind until I realized that it’s much easier and dramatic to roll up into its mouth and blast it’s belly 4 times. The gastric acid takes away a little of your health but that’s nothing when compared to the chunks she takes when she connects with her jaws around Samus. I mean, compare 4 tiny bombs in the Queen’s belly to 150 missiles to her face. You heard me. 150 missiles. 150 projectiles into her visage all while dodging her chomping at you and spewing spikey things that home into your fragile being.

Anyhow, here’s my finishing screen, I died 5 times in-story and 6 times against the Queen Metroid until I saw this screen which clocked me at 7h 46 min:

Yay, I did it!

Yay, I did it!

I always had a hard time discerning whether I had 49 or 99 health left as the “fours” look a lot like “nines”. Anyhow, I got the crappy ending, and I couldn’t care less, but the game was awesome indeed and a must to play if you’re a Metroid fan. The creepy atmosphere and all was there, and I’m pleased to say that there’s no Countdown Sequence part in the game! No diarrhea for me!

And I’ll take the chance to wish y’all a Merry Christmas, or Happy Holidays, or Hanukkah, Chrismukkah or Eat-athon or whatever you prefer, and I’ll see you very soon after the festivities with a new and huge Retro Games Hunt post (yeah, I’ve got a good haul this time).

video-game-santa1

Heck, let’s just say:

HAPPY GAMING HOLIDAY TO Y’ALL!

 

First two images Copyright MartianOddity

Last image from: http://almostnerdy.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/video-game-santa1.jpg

4 thoughts on “Gaming in Paris

  1. I wish we had the 3Ds when I was in the Louvre! All I got was this little handheld computer thing that was hard to use IMO. It worked alright, but I didn’t like it that much. Occasionally it glitched too. I remember that it stuck on a certain piece of art, and I had to reset it.

    Like

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

