Game Hunting: Consoles, Games and More

A Gameboy Color kit with a radio device, earphones, link cable, a carrying bag etc. and a Memory Pak.

A Gameboy Color kit with a radio device, earphones, link cable, a carrying bag etc. and a Mega Memory.

 

Both these seem to be French judging from the text on them, but I can assure you that I didn’t but them in Paris. I had to get them since they were 2 bucks each. I asked for the price, at a flea market, and the dude said “Well, how many do you want? I have a whole box of these that I want to get rid of.“.   I bought two Mega Memories, one for me and one for my brother, and the Gameboy Color Kit just for the heck of it. I might have been able to get a lot of them very cheap, but what would I do with them? I’m going to return there in 2 weeks and buy maybe 2 more Mega Memories since they were brand new.

 

The Pearl White Gamecube with a 3rd party controller, got it for the average price they go for. I think it's about 40-60 dollars? Not a bargain but I couldn't let a white Gamecube go since they're not that common where I live.

The Pearl White Gamecube with a 3rd party controller, got it for the average price they go for. I think it’s about 40-60 dollars? Not a bargain but I couldn’t let a white Gamecube go since they’re not that common where I live.

This is the Pearl White Gamecube that I got. Looks awesome, doesn’t it? I’m a sucker for white stuff. Sadly It only came with a 3rd party controller but I couldn’t pass it up since it was sold for a fair price of 55 dollars, considering its semi-rarity where I live.

Previously I had one with the original Purple color, but since I don’t need 2 Gamecubes, and since I bought it with my brother, I’m giving it to him. I mean, he was kind enough to give it to me when we moved to our own places so I guess it’s only fair to give the previous one to him, box and all, together with the games Rocky, Dragonball Budokai 1, Dragonball Budokai 2 and James Bond 007: Nightfire. We bickered a little over the Crazy Taxi game, but he decided to buy it himself since he found it relatively cheap. Underrated game, by the way, and in my opinion a good port from the arcade version of the game.

 

The GBA SP I bought in the US is in the picture just for the heck of it. I also got Rad Racer, Disney's Magical Quest 1 and 3.

The GBA SP I bought in the US is in the picture just for the heck of it. I also got Rad Racer, Disney’s Magical Quest 1 and 3.

 

And here’s Rad Racer, Disney’s Magical Quest 1, Disney’s Magical Quest 3 and the Gameboy Advance SP that I bought in the US.

Rad Racer works well but shows horizontal lines on the screen, despite being from my region. They say that it can look like that if you play a NTSC version of the game on a PAL console… but I’m playing the PAL game on a PAL console.

Also I’ve already finished the first Magical Quest game. A review is coming up next.

7 thoughts on “Game Hunting: Consoles, Games and More

  1. That GameCube looks to sweeeeeet! They should have had the white color as the standard one (I don’t get why they were so into purple at that time, both with the GBA and the GC). Everything Nintendo was Purple! Maybe they were afraid of it being associated or mistaken for a Dreamcast, though.
    I like the name or Rad Racer. It is so 80’s.

    Like

    • Don’t forget the Purple Gameboy Color. I don’t get that trend either… I also think even their faces were purple when the Gamecube didn’t do well. Alright, that was mean, sorry.

      Oh, Rad Racer. Wow. Rad Racer symbolizes the 80’s big time! With its 3D and all!!!

      Like

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

