Refurbishing and Replacing Batteries

bild (16)

At first I used this kit which worked so-so. I opened Dragon Quest 1&2 up and gently ripped the battery out.

bild (15)

Then I got this from my wife as a gift. She looked for it everywhere, it was sold out and all, but finally got a hold of this awesome kit that can help you open up all game systems and cartridges, and even cell phones. The Shinobii Console Tool Kit.

bild (18)

I used Mike Tyson’s Punch out as a work bench. Just kidding, it’s just there for awesome background, and I’m also going to gut it later, with a screwdriver.
On the top you have the DQ 1&2 cartridge with its new, trustworthy battery.

bild (19)

See? It works. And I tested the crap out of it, shook the cartridge and left it outside of the system for 15 min x2. It still works. Now I’ve got a Bamboo stick and Leather Cloth and I’m at Level 1. Back to grinding…

bild (20)

The Pokémon Gold dismantled, left for shame, with the old battery still left. And the small tape thingy covers the oscillating crystal that is responsible for the Time in the game and also causes the battery to slowly drain, leeching it even though the game isn’t on.

bild (21)

The new battery taped and all, to be covered by cardboard and shut. And it worked.

bild (22)

Ah, the Shinobii, ready to gut the Mike Tyson’s Punch Out!! cartridge since it refuses to start 50% of the time, to clean it off the filth on its connectors (you don’t need to open it up to clean the connectors, but the Shinobii shows no mercy).

bild (23)

Here’s its guts.

bild (24)

Look how filthy it was, the game deserved to be cleansed of its dust and dirt, and it was a challenge worthy of Window Cleaner and a Q-tip!

bild (25)

Don’t forget to wipe your backside.

5 thoughts on “Refurbishing and Replacing Batteries

  1. Wow, this is an amazing post! I’ve never seen anyone pop open a game and replace batteries/clean surfaces like that. Very cool, indeed. Glad to see the games work, but I’m sorry you’ve lost your data 😦

    Like

    • Well, I’m back on track at Lv. 14, wandering around trying to find the Golem guarding the city to the south, so I’m not that pissed anymore 😀 I’m glad I got to clean the connectors, and now the game plays every time I insert it into the system. I probably wouldn’t have done that if this hadn’t happened 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Gamecube Controller Button Swap Mod | The Martian Oddity

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

