Rising From The Ashes: Gameboy Advance Genesis

I got this package  from Bulgaria. I never knew their lettering reminds of the Russian ones, so I was surprised to get this brightly yellow parcel in my hands.

I got this package from Bulgaria. I never knew their lettering reminds of the Russian ones, so I was surprised to get this brightly yellow parcel in my hands.

Here it is, the GBA SP that I bought for 15 pounds excl. shipping. Pretty neat, huh?

Here it is, the GBA SP that I bought for 15 pounds excl. shipping. Pretty neat, huh?

Not a single scratch in the screen, no cracks, and comparatively few scratches when compared to other consoles for sale.

Not a single scratch in the screen, no cracks, and comparatively few scratches when compared to other consoles for sale.

Here it is, the new Pearl White shell mounted on. It took a lot of effort, especially when I forgot steps and had to unscrew the board and backtrack a bit, but all in all it was a pretty easy thing to do, considering I'm not the technical type.

Here it is, the new Pearl White shell mounted on. It took a lot of effort, especially when I forgot steps and had to unscrew the board and backtrack a bit, but all in all it was a pretty easy thing to do, considering I’m not the technical type.

Here's the bottom of the system. It came with a Hong Kong sticker for the system along with all the other parts.

Here’s the bottom of the system. It came with a Hong Kong sticker for the system along with all the other parts.

And here's the system with Dragonball: Advanced Adventure, one of the best games for the system.

And here’s the system with Dragonball: Advanced Adventure, one of the best games for the system.

I never installed the white plugs at the lid, but used the old system's gray ones since it looked way nicer that way. Incidentally, the kit didn't contain the hinge-thingeys to I had to salvage the parts from the original system's shell. It also missed a certain metal part for the battery lid, that too had to be salvaged.

I never installed the white plugs at the lid, but used the old system’s gray ones since it looked way nicer that way. Incidentally, the kit didn’t contain the hinge-thingeys to I had to salvage the parts from the original system’s shell. It also missed a certain metal part for the battery lid, that too had to be salvaged.

Since the Bulgarian box was awesome I kept it, and put all the parts of the old GBA SP and the shell of the new one into it. Effectivity for the win!

Since the Bulgarian box was awesome I kept it, and put all the parts of the old GBA SP and the shell of the new one into it. Effectivity for the win!

I was so focused during the assembly that I forgot to take pics of the guts of the system… as my apology I’ll show you this link of X-rays of Video Game Systems:

100px-Tiny_Wario_SML3_Wario_Land   100px-Tiny_Wario_SML3_Wario_Land   100px-Tiny_Wario_SML3_Wario_Land

Joystiq: Video Game Innards

100px-Tiny_Wario_SML3_Wario_Land   100px-Tiny_Wario_SML3_Wario_Land   100px-Tiny_Wario_SML3_Wario_Land

Here’s a sample:

xraygaming18

Wario image from: http://www.mariowiki.com/images/thumb/f/f7/Tiny_Wario_SML3_Wario_Land.png/100px-Tiny_Wario_SML3_Wario_Land.png

4 thoughts on “Rising From The Ashes: Gameboy Advance Genesis

  1. Wow, that GBA SP looks really sweet in white! Nice choice.
    And it is smart to keep the old parts, especially since they can be used as spare parts in case something breaks.
    It’s cool that it included a sticker too! Makes it look more authentic.

    Like

  2. Pingback: I’m Back! Now Playing: Wario Land 3 and 4 | The Martian Oddity

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

