Game Hunting: Atari is What’s Retro Here

bild 3 (9)

Atari Greatest Hits: Volume 1

I found this for about 4 £, at BR Leksaker in Femmanhuset in Gothenburg, Sweden. It’s a good price and I’ve wanted to play old school Atari games for a while, and I think this is a good way for me to play them. This purchase filled me with nostalgia as the store still uses the same price stickers as when I was a kid, and still has good games for a pretty cheap price, as evidenced by this game and the Puzzle Bobble one. I remember the time when hits such as Super Mario Land 1 and 2 and Kirby’s Dream Land were sold for 12-18 £ a few years after their release, while still not out of print, and there were a lot of good games for about that price. I guess games are usually expensive to create (though I don’t think new ones necessarily are any cheaper today when compared to my childhood).

Yoshi’s Island DS

I really liked Yoshi’s Island for the GBA, and this game is just that much better. I’m at the end of World 2, and I love how the different babies have different abilities. Baby Mario is a fast runner, can turn Super and enables “M” blocks which make platforming easier, Baby Peach can fly with her umbrella when there are gusts of winds and Baby Donkey Kong has a really strong throwing arm (though his eggs  don’t bounce off walls), a tackle attack and can climb vines (though he’s really slow and has short jumps).

Now I’m waiting for Baby Wario, which easily will be my favorite. And just like Mario, he doesn’t sport his characteristic ‘stashe:

Baby_Wario_&_Yoshi

http://de.mario.wikia.com

And it seems his ability is collecting coins, among others.

This game was a gift from my bro. Thanks a bunch bro!

Puzzle Bobble Universe

This is my second Nintendo 3DS game. I really like the Puzzle Bobble games, and one for the 3DS at 12£ really sounds like a great deal to me! I’m glad I got this game at such a great price. I haven’t played it yet as I forgot the charger at my parents’, so I’ll have to play Pokémon White 2 and Yoshi’s Island on my DS Lite at the moment.

2 thoughts on “Game Hunting: Atari is What’s Retro Here

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

