Nostalgia Shower: Pokémon Red & Blue Version

 PokemonBR

I clearly remember the day I bought Pokémon Blue together with a Gameboy Color.

There was the smell of early summer hanging in the air, the weather was relatively warm for the season and I was exalted about finally getting to buy the game. Still, every time I smell the same early summer fragrance, I get to remember that day and feel the surge of nostalgia filling my body.

The whole thing began when my brother and I opened up the Swedish Club Nintendo Magazine. By chance we opened the magazine and got to read an article about the new video game phenomenon Pokémon. Back then they were only one set of the same game. We read through the same article over and over and were completely smitten by the game and absorbed all of the content completely.

The images, the goals of the game, the story and the setting really appealed to us. I remember writing an essay of one page for school about the game, and back then I believed in Poké Gods, the well spread rumor that probably was a term covering not only the legendaries, but also other rumors such as Pikablu, Mewthree (which by the way is a reality with the release of Pokémon X and Y) and some more. I honestly believed that they granted wishes and stuff, and I still remember that guy who spread it to me telling me this. He must have known how false they were since he and his brother already owned the game!
I remember thinking that the concept of 150 Pokémon to choose from, and create your own arsenal or monsters, was a very appealing and overwhelmingly awesome concept. Your own arsenal of monsters. Man, that a real boys dream come true, albeit it’d be in a virtual environment.

PokemonRedBlueSheet1

After about a month or so we decided to buy the game. It took a while to save up the dough needed to buy it (our parent’s thought it was wise for us to feel the real value of jovial things that we purchased, and I thank them for it still) since we didn’t get everything we pointed at just like that kid at school did, the one we all had around us and that we were immensely jelaous of. During that time the TV show had started to air, and after about 2-3 fantastic episodes we could finally afford the Gameboy Color and the Game Pak.

I’m pretty sure it was a Thursday that we got to buy the game, but I can’t recall the date. We were to buy it the same weekend but impatient as we were our parents allowed us to buy it that same day, on the condition that we were to make our homework first. I think it was about 5 PM after school that we were to depart to the store, but we actually went there about 2 hours earlier. Yes, we were that psyched! Our mom is really awesome.

We were as excited as kids can be (and occasionally adults, such as when I go to flea markets) on our way to Toys R’ Us, and we set for the video game shelves as soon as we entered the store. Back then they had small sheets of paper with the name of the video game and a barcode, and I’m not sure if they still have them. I remember frequently imagining fetching a lot of them and go cash them in for free at the cash register, sometimes I did it because of a competition I’d won and sometimes I’d con the cashier to give me the games. The former was a much more common fantasy though.

We bought a Gameboy Color each and I chose Blue Version while my bro whose Red Version, and we also joined in to buy a Link Cable. We didn’t have enough money but we “lent” some from our mom, and we paid her back from our allowance weekly. What an angel she is, our mom.

While back in the car we opened everything up and played a little before we got home. I walked around in Pallet Town, and spoke to everyone there and I couldn’t advance. I didn’t dare to step out in the grass since I thought the wild Pokémon would peck/scratch/bite/tackle you into smithereens since you clearly were warned about it.

Then my brother told me, in a very enthusiastic way, that he was choosing his first Pokémon. We were very competitive back then and I asked him, in a panicky kind of way, how he went to do so. And the hold me to walk out into the dangerous grass.

Walk into the grass.

pokemon_blue_version_gbc_screenshot3

Anyhow, I’d meant to choose Squirtle in the beginning and my brother wanted Bulbasaur. But since I accidentally chose Bulbasaur I asked my brother to restart his game and choose a Pokémon he didn’t want, namely Charmander, instead of resetting everything myself. Man, I’m ashamed of that still, but he was kind enough to do so.

In my defence we went to greatly prefer those Pokémon over our original choices, my favourite is Bulbasaur and his is Charmander.

And the rest is history.

Images from: http://www.allrpg.com, http://www.nes-snes-sprites.com, http://www.thewarpzone.wordpress.com

(This was one of the posts in my old blog)

4 thoughts on “Nostalgia Shower: Pokémon Red & Blue Version

  1. I had a similar experience when the two games were released in the UK, only that I found out about them by watching the anime series, which I only found out about after seeing an ad in a girls’ magazine, of all places (Sky had cleverly put in an ad that was a wallchart for ticking off the Pokémon as you saw them). After seeing the ad, I used the internet to find out about the series and the upcoming game.

    Like

    • Hah, what a nice advertisement idea!
      I looked Pokémon stuff up with the Internet service we had at home, with a mind boggling 56 k connection if I recall correctly. I remember reading about Poké Gods. I was so gullible back then! Also I remember everyone printing Fresh Prince in Bel Air and Saved By The Bell pics for collages at school, using the internet provided there.

      Like

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

