Game Hunting: Even More PS2 Gaming Goodness

This time I present to you even more Playstation 2 games in this week’s Game Hunting. As you can get them for no more than 2-3 bucks each in pristine condition (usually in used condition but sometimes even brand new and sealed) it sure is the right time to score those games you’ve been looking for to the PS2 library, as everyone clears our their collection to get money for newer systems, or are moving on into other hobbies.

SVC Chaos

The first game that I got was SNK vs Capcom: Chaos (or as the front cover reads- SVC Chaos- SNK vs. Capcom, which happens to be an arcade port), It’s a very good fighting game, being part of the “Capcom Vs.” series, though I reckon the ones featuring the “X-Men vs. Capcom”‘s characters are more sought after and for good reason. Slick Gaming wrote a piece about the “Capcom Vs.” series in his Worth Playing: Part 8 post. And he sure is right about the quality and worth…ness? Worth…hood? Ah. He sure is right about the quality and worth of these games. I find Hugo very intimidating in size and look though, and that attack where he rushes makes me feel a bit frightened to be honest. It’s awesome to be able to play as Zero from the newer installments, as well as Red Arremer from Gargoyle’s Quest,SC 2

Soul Calibur II is a sequel to the first game for the Sega Dreamcast, and a good one at that. The only draw is that you get some Tekken dude instead for Link as you get in the Gamecube version, and Spawn in the Xbox version, which is a tad dissapointing. Otherwise it looks and plays the same, and I really like this armed-combat fighting game. It’s just as fun as I remember it being back when it came out, and is a balanced game. Not that I’m particularly good at it, but it still manages to be fun even considering that.

LOTR My, this is uncomfortable, a game with a cover in a foreign language! It’s in Swedish, which isn’t foreign to me, and it’s supposed to be Lord of the Rings: Return of The King. I remember playing it on a demo stand back when it came out and I was really into the Lord of the Rings movies and books and I liked it a lot. I loved being able to play the battle at Helm’s Deep and didn’t find the mechanics to be lacking at a glance. Now, however, I’m getting my ass kicked since I find the controls and such to be a bit difficult to master, and I lost almost all my health fighting off filthy Orcs who sometimes hit me off screen. All in all it’s a fun game and not too terrible, and if you’re a fan you’re going to enjoy it.

R2RBThe first time I played Ready 2 Rumble Boxing was on a demo stand just after the Sega Dreamcast came out over here, and I thought it was hilarious and fun. When I saw this sold for nothing I grabbed it, and it turns out to be a fun game. Maybe not as great as Rocky for the PS2 and the GCN but still good enough given it’s light hearted atmosphere. Now Rocky is a great boxing game, I remember how fun we had yelling to the other to stop using alternating high and low hooks to destroy one’s boxer, when they managed to get into the correct distance that is. I also remember how they tried to persuade you to buy the movies too.  You could read “Buy the movies. Play the game.” or something like that. My brother got our copy of the game for the Gamecube, and I think I’d like to get one of my own too in the future.

1945

This game is so good. 1945 I & II is a port of the arcade games with the same name. It’s a vertical shooter which can get really intense, and is best enjoyed with some friends. That’s not to say that it’s very fun when played alone too! You choose from several planes with different attack types and upgrades, as well as “Bombs“, or “Special Attacks“, if you will. I’ve noticed how much noise these early discs make when inserted into my Playstation 2 Slim, you know, those with the blue side. I wonder why?

 

HL

Next game is Half-Life. Can you see those annoying Void stickers? I really dislike them! I’m going to check out how to get rid of them, Goo Gone doesn’t work that well, and scraping them off with put a lot of flimsy material on your fingers which is really annoying. It’s admirable that they made a PS2 port with a new Co-Op story exclusive to the system, but it works so-so and the beginning of that story is thick to get through. You control two different scientist women who are thrown in the middle of the mayhem that erupts around Morgan Freeman… eh, I mean Gordon Freeman, excuse me. My brother and I stopped playing because it was so frickin’ difficult, and we had a hard time, losing more than half our health bars each against one of those multi-ocular bulldog creatures- and that frustration just isn’t worth. Forget auto-aim, there is no noticeable thing like that in this game. And imagine moving around trying to hit small creatures with your crowbar, man, you’re in for a treat. This game plays much better with a mouse, and is together with Age of Empires 2 a good reason to get one. Though I don’t really know if it supports a keyboard and mouse, I’ve got to check it out.

 

Marvel Ultimate 2Last but not least we have Marvel’s Ultimate Alliance 2. It’s an enjoyable game with a Co-Op mode, and controls pretty well. I usually used Iron Man, as he could fly, and Spider Man who swings on his spider webs and basically flies through doing so as well. Wolverine was strong but clunky, slow and lacked any immediate range attacks, but since you could choose between one out of four heroes it didn’t matter that much. All in all it’s a fun but repetitive beat-em-up (as most games from that genre can be) and worth a couple of bucks if you run across a copy.

9 thoughts on “Game Hunting: Even More PS2 Gaming Goodness

    • Thanks!
      I have a few Pictures from a couple of years ago of my collection that was significantly smaller back then, way back in the category “video game collection” accessible from the menu. I’m thinking of adding a page with my complete collection in text but haven’t gotten around to do it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I usually have terrible luck at finding console games at thrift stores (but excellent luck with old pc games, maybe cause no one thinks there worth anything?) anyways a few days ago I scored a few nice PS2 games, mostly shumps and I was pretty happy. Gradius V, R-type final and flying castle something 2…name escapes me. oh and disgaea: hour of darkness which was nice.

    Like

      • Schmups are really fun indeed! It’s nice to be able to score such great games! You don’t find that kind of games too readily over here. And Gradius 5, wow! I’ve heard good things about that game.
        Have you modded your system? How would you play import games on it? I’m considering modding it so I can play Mega Man X Collection on my PS2, which has to be imported. It’s either the PS2 version, which costs half of what the Gamecube version does, or giving in and paying too much for the GCN game (I have a freeloader).

        PC games are cheaper and easier to find over here too, probably since less people buy them as they need some tweaking to be able to work on newer computers.

        Like

      • yhea, I didn’t know it at the time when I picked it up bit apparently Gradius V is fairly uncommon game. Its pretty fun but its hard. i love shumps but I’m not that good at them. I have the gamecube Mega Man X collection. its pretty fun. As far as importing unless I defiantly need to be able to understand language I usually import the Japanese versions since they use the same TV signal more or less and the same Hrz speed. PAL stuff is a little trickier depending on the system. I have a PS2 with a mod chip in it that reads PAL games and forces the system into NTSC mod but I also have a Sony PVM monitor that does RGB SCART via an adaptor and can handle PAL that gets around most of the issues.

        Like

      • Ah, if you have a copy of MMX collection laying around collecting dust or find one dirt cheap somewhere, you know that here’s someone who’d like a copy, hehe!

        Yeah, it can be difficult making games from NTSC regions working correctly over here in the PAL region, though most newer TVs can handle it pretty well.

        Like

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

