Game Hunting: Pirates of the Burnout Gunbird

It’s time for another Game Hunting post! Here’s another bunch of games I got for a Handful of Dollars (for a few bucks each, really) in different locations, like thrift stores and such. When it comes to the Playstation 2 I buy whatever looks interesting, basically, since the games are dirt cheap.

 

burnout

The first game is Burnout: Dominator. While allegedly not the best in the series, the thought of crashing cars around is alluring. I got this sealed for a few bucks and I’m willing to give it a shot, since I really enjoy games like these. I mean, you can’t drive like this in real life, so why not do it in a virtual environment?

The graphics look good, for being on a Playstation 2, and the back of the case drew me in and I got it from the thrift store (Gengåvan). Count me in! Let’s do this!!

gunbird

Then we have Gunbird: Special Edition, which is a vertical scroller and an arcade port. That’s what’s so great about the Playstation 2, and that’s all those awesome 2D arcade ports for it. And usually they sell for nothing and are quality games well worth that price. Now, I’m not trying to seem like a shmup aficionado, ’cause I’m not. I’m just saying that they’re easy to pick up and play. I chose Beard Papa who wanted a wish from the final level boss, as do the others, but his wish was selfless! He wanted to bring his beloved pupil back to life. Only it turns out he isn’t just his pupil, but also his lover. What a twist!

pirates

I played Pirates of the Carribean: At Worlds End for the PC a long time ago, and it was decent. It’s a beat-em-up and it’s also a game based on the Pirates of the Carribean franchise, which I really like a lot. For a couple of bucks it became mine, though I’m starting to feel I won’t ever get to play all these games. I’ve got to put a lid on it! Save up! And then release the barrier and go on a shopping frenzy, ’cause that’d be way better.

 

Wait. Carribean. Carri. Bean. Bean. Mr. Bean. Oh, don’t worry, I won’t post a picture of Mr. Bean dressed like Jack Sparrow.

I’ll link to it instead.

Next Game Hunting post will have all Black Friday and Cyber Monday purchases, and all the christmas gifts I got this year. It just takes some time to assemble the post!

4 thoughts on “Game Hunting: Pirates of the Burnout Gunbird

  1. I had so much fun with Burnout on the PS2. Loved it. Making those massive multicar pile-ups is tons of fun!
    Gunbird sounds good too. There are a lot of good fun shooters out there. Nice score.

    Liked by 1 person

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

