Video Game Hunting: May You Find What You’re Searching For Part 1

May month has been a very Video Game Hunting rich month with a lot of places having sales, my awesome brother giving me some stuff, and me scoring on a certain last console of the big three in the -90’s… This means that I’ll have to split this post into three different ones, to make everything easier to scan through for you. As usual, all games were purchased for at least 25% below standard retail or retro game market prices, and usually for a good bit more than that too.

First off, let’s start chronologically from the Nintendo Entertainment System to the Gameboy Advance. Games for systems made later will be in Part 2, and last, but not least, the console bundle in Part 3.

2015-05-24 10.58.03The first game is Slalom which I remember my parents having rented for us when we were kids. I can distinctly see that round butt in front of me guiding it’s way throughout the tracks, and I also remember us kids exclaiming that the Pause sound was exactly like the one in Super Mario Bros. I also got the European Version which sports the much nicer Japanese box art. Even though it’s the same game, I don’t quite like the pixelated box arts. As far as I know, they weren’t sold over here, so I’d say that’d boildown to nostalgic preference if anything. The pixelated ones are cheaper, after all.

ducktalesThis game needs no introduction as most, if not all “Retro Gamers”, have a fond connection to it. Be it their immense love for the cartoon, all things Capcom or the goosebumps they get from the Moon theme, Ducktales is one of those games one really has to play. At Easy mode it’s really easy to beat (duh) and at harder difficulties even the most seasoned gaming veteran can get his/hers fix. It’s a bit on the more expensive side but I was able to find it cheaper at the German Ebay site. This Pal B version is completely in English too.

Pokémon SilverWhile my personal motto rather was “Gotta catch at least some of ém! ” I still found the “Gotta Catch ém all!” motto to be awesome. I never did get why Ash didn’t do it, and looked down on him and his team. Sure, love is great and all, but not actually training your Pokémon outside of trainer battles just shows how little you’re invested in it’s success. You can’t be the very best that no one ever was if you don’t put your back into it. I got this Pokémon: Silver Version box from my brother. He had it somewhere collecting dust and wanted me to have it in my collection. I asked him to keep the game so that we still could battle each other. I’ve ordered a charging cable for his GBA SP (the Groudon Edition) but it hasn’t arrived yet.

Pokémon FireRedMy brother could very well be Santa Claus or a saint since he gave me this box too. Pokémon FireRed is the first of the two remakes, predating the Gold/Silver remakes for the Nintendo DS, and the Ruby/Sapphire ones for the 3DS. I remember enjoying this one a lot (at least LeafGreen, which was the one I had) and I asked my brother to keep this game cartridge too.

 

Stay tuned for Part 2!

 

4 thoughts on “Video Game Hunting: May You Find What You’re Searching For Part 1

  1. I actually like the pixel box art that some of the earlier NES games had. I remember Slalom and it’s an OK game. A solid addition 🙂
    Ducktales is a good game. So many Disney games with those classic Disney characters are really good games to play. Solid!
    I was never into Pokemon and now I’m glad for it because they are crazy popular and often hard to get.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, Pokémon is like the NES, it sold in ridiculous quantities but still manages to be crazy expensive because of its popularity. I’m happy I still have most of my games since childhood. Otherwise chances would be high that I’d never get into it at all. A more affordable alternative it the Dragon Quest: Monsters Series though, they never fail to deliver.

      Like

  2. Great finds. So, BTW you collect NTSC Nintendo games as well? I stay away from non-NTSC games. Can’t play them here. Well, I could, but just too much hassle. Wouldn’t ming getting a Retron5, though.

    Like

    • I have a few NTSC games, most play flawlessly if you don’t mind music slowdown (like in Startropics, Fester’s Quest, Snake Rattle N’ Roll) and others play slowly (like Mike Tyson’s Punch Out). I’ve region unlocked my NES so that it’s possible to play NTSC games, though I prefer PAL games. Only thing is that PAL games tend to be ridiculously priced over here, and sometimes NTSC games are the way to go. Mendel Palace, on the other hand, is completely unplayable on a PAL console. It simply crashes, and that’s sad since I really want to play that early Game Freak game. Well, any time I’m in the US I take a look at NTSC NES games. If the dollar is cheaper I might get some games. In April it was more expensive and thus the games weren’t as cheap as they used to be, so I didn’t get any.

      Like

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

