Game Hunting: Big Business in July

 

July month was a good one. A debuting Segaphiliac got his claws around the most popular of Sega’s system, the Sega Mega Drive, or Sega Genesis if you will. There were an issue with the system though and it’s as of now unclear what’s wrong with it, which lead to registering to a SEGA forum for Tech Support, and as of now I’m waiting for the moderators to validate my account. Man has it been forever since I was registered at any forum at all, I used to scour My Favorite Games, and I even created my own forums which gathered 4 or so inactive members, ah, good days. I also had an account at PokéCommunity where I outgrew the lil’ kids scouring the site, accusing everyone even accepting the first gen games of wearing “nostalgia goggles”.

2015-07-17 21.15.27

I got this Sega Mega Drive Model 1. While I grew up playing the Model 2 I fell for the retro look, and greater quality, of the first model. As with most 2nd models that are more compact, the components inside are of a cheaper variety, and supposedly this one is supposed to have a greater chance to work. I was assured that it’s work as late as 3 weeks prior to the sale, but alas it didn’t. The seller probably just powered it on (even though he claims to have gotten a good picture from it) and sold it as is. We’re trying to settle it at the moment and he’s offering his help, but I’m pretty sure I’m doing everything right. I even got an RGB cable for it but the frickin’ thing won’t work never the less. Luckily base units are cheap to come by, and if I won’t get it working I’d like some money back. Even so I got the unit for a fair price still, and the dude threw in an extra controller for shits and giggles, so I don’t think he’s trying to con me. This unit didn’t contain Sonic the Hedhehog though, I’ll have to get that one. And maybe that SEGA forum will be able to help me out.

2015-07-17 21.13.29This is the sexy beast itself. The sexy wounded malfunctioning beast of a machine.The RF cable didn’t work on the CRT TV on channel C36 (or any other either by the way) and I had no luck on the flatscreen LCD TV either. It lights on, the Headphone port gives a static sound that hurts the ears, and occassionally you could hear that sound seconds at a time when trying to tune the game in. The RGB cable only shows a flickering screen akin to the blinking ones of the NES:

2015-07-17 21.12.12I got two hockey games for the system, the first one is NHL Hockey ’94, and the other one the fabled Elitserien 95 (it’s really common and goes for the cheaps, by the way), which contains the Swedish hockey players of 1995. That’s seriously a great game, and I’m not even that much for sports games to begin with. I’m stoked to play these games, only, I can’t. That’s a bummer. Anyhow, the first one is in pretty good condition, but Elitserien has seen better days.

2015-07-17 21.12.59These controllers were included, a total of three of them! I don’t know if they work yet though, as I can’t get a picture. And I don’t have an Atari to try them out either. They look nice, and they feel right in my hands with the correct response when pushing the buttons, and the cables look whole and all.

IMG_6705Quackshot: Starring Donald Duck looked really fun and I had to get it after watching a let’s play of the first level. I love Disney games, and even though this ain’t no Capcom game I still find the titles to be overall enjoyable on the Mega Drive never the less. I’m stoked to play this one, if the game system ever decided to output some proper image that is! I lookf orward to play this game with an Indiana Jones-Donald Duck knockoff that doesn’t even have real bullets to boot. Watch out or Pete’s going to get ya!

IMG_6706Next is Castle of Illusion: Starring Mickey Mouse (what’s up with the “Starring” theme of these games? Are they trying to mimic the cartoons?) which is an early Mega Drive game which is pretty decent. It might be no Magical Quest or Mickey Mania, but is an easy pick-up-and-play title on the system that offers a good time to the ones lusting for an easygoing adventure. It’s pretty interesting how Mickey isn’t angry or smiling on the cover; it’s not Americanized like the Kirby franchise, instead he’s in deep thought over the mystery that’s about to be unfolded. That’s deep, man and woman.

IMG_6707Next up is Aladdin. This is in fact the version I like the most and I don’t have any feelings whatsoever for the SNES version. The animation is superb and I always loved how they used the iconic sword-wielding Aladdin that stabbed Snakefar with his blade. It might also be that I grew up playing this version on the PC too, so of course I am biased, gosh. The graphics, sound effects and gameplay are awesome. AWESOME. It’s not too easy though, and suffers from the not-being-able-to-see-where-the-invisible-enemy-is-shooting-you disease.

A2015-07-18 22.21.02nd last, but not least (maybe), we have an outcast in the group. It doesn’t belong here. But it’s a July Pickup and cost me only the equivalent of 1 dollar, so. Yeah. Fighting wars with your instruments in Battle of the Bands seems very interesting, and there’s a multiplayer mode too, so I hold medium hopes that this game will be playable. If it isn’t I can just watch in on the shelf, or sell it for 1 dollar or so.

 

Please reply for all the Oddities in the World!

